Webinars on Heart and Purpose of Yoga

Four webinars by Ravi Ravindra

on Saturdays June 2, 9, 16, 23, 2018

From 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. (Central time), 11 a.m. to noon (Eastern time),  noon to 1 p.m. (Atlantic Provinces), 4 p.m. to 5 p.m. (UK), 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. (Continental Europe), 8:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. (India)

Heart and Purpose of Yoga The Yoga Sutras and the Bhagavad Gita are the two classical texts of Yoga.  But they are very different from each other and have a quite different emphasis on the kind of yoga necessary for a radical transformation of the self for spiritual awakening to take place.  In these webinars we will discuss various kinds of yoga and the many obstacles that present themselves in the path of a searcher, and how to overcome them.  We will explore how to attend to our responsibility in the world and at the same time to try to cultivate a state of Freedom beyond this world.

Course Outline

1. Exploration of the similarities and differences in approach between the two classical texts of yoga: cultivating samādhi versus being called to Madbhāva, Krishna’s own level of being.

2. Meditation yoga, buddhi yoga, karma yoga, jñāna yoga, and bhakti yoga will be discussed as they relate to the forms of yoga emphasized in each text.

3. Exploration of the hindrances (kleshas) that stand in the way of a searcher as described by Patañjali in the Yoga Sutra, versus the Bhagavad Gita’s teaching that a separate self is necessary for action in the world.

4. Attending to our responsibility in the world in light of these two texts: taking care of the environment and each other while cultivating our own inner state of Freedom without measure.

Click for details and registration

More details about Ravi Ravindra at www.ravindra.ca

 

Related Articles

Prof Ravi Ravindra – Eternal Wisdom

By bringing together philosophical and spiritual traditions of the East and the West we will explore some of the concerns of eternal wisdom: the nature of Ultimate Reality, of the spiritual and material structure of the cosmos, the purpose of human incarnation and the general suggestions for spiritual development.