Introduction and a question on blending professional and personal interests …

• Introduction and a question on blending professional and personal interests …

Posted by Linda Vernon on 15 October 2022 at 3:18 pm

Good morning, good afternoon, good evening colleagues,

I’ve just joined this interest group – after a period of being a fairly inactive member, I’ve just been inspired following the TCCHE conference last weekend to dive a bit deeper into the curious inquisitive part of me that wants to understand the space where science and spirituality meet, and I guess to understand how I can weave my professional and personal interests together.

So, I was surprised to see no activity in the group, but thought I may as well kick us off!

I work in healthcare, in the NHS, as a leader but formerly as a physiotherapy practitioner, doing a lot of diagnostic workup of complex patients who had failed conservative treatment. I also, many years ago, practised clinical aromatherapy after undertaking a DipHE Aromatic Medicine at John Moores University in Liverpool. And more recently I did some functional medicine training in the USA with IFM.org, and life and health coaching using a cognitive behavioural approach (which was interesting but I think has limitations).

On a personal level, I meditate, I practice mindfulness in the Plum Village tradition, I’m curious about our consciousness and the interactions between mind, thought, spirituality & belief and our physiology, and more recently I’ve become interested in plant medicine.

So my question to you all is whether you have managed to blend your professional interests (particularly if you are involved in the delivery of mainstream healthcare) and your personal interests or philosophies …

Hope to see some introductions and discussion,

Linda

Howard Eisenberg replied 1 year, 3 months ago 2 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies

Howard Eisenberg

17 October 2022 at 12:36 am

Hi Linda,

Welcome to our Healthcare interest group!